Cookie Craze

All this election tension has me stress baking like my life depends on it! In an attempt to steer clear of the sugar in chocolate I made some gingersnap cookies from Primal Palate over the weekend, which were quickly devoured by my improv team. Most of the grain and dairy-free desserts I’ve baked (see donutsmore donuts, and coconut layer bars) are fairly dense, so I was pleasantly surprised at how light and spongy the gingerbread turned out to be.

gingersnaps
Delightfully light and spongy gingersnaps, as modeled by my improv teammates. See bite taken out of the top right cookie for barometer of deliciousness.

Since that was such a success (and not even a crumb remained as of Monday night…) I tried my hand at grain and dairy free chocolate chip cookies today. It’s important to know that this is a really, really, really big deal for me. Chocolate chip cookies have been my go-to dessert my entire life. I made them with my mom as a kid, spent many Sundays as a teen baking them for the week’s school lunches, and relied on them as comfort food during many a late night writing sesh in college.

I had put off even trying a grain/dairy free version of my staple cookie because I was so afraid of being let down. But eventually, cravings kick in, and after scouring the internet for different recipes, I experimented with one from this blog. After getting up early to vote and making it through a shorter than anticipated line at the polling place, I found myself with enough time to make myself a breakfast burrito (egg whites, sausage, mushrooms, garlic) AND experiment with cookies. What a start to the day!

I made a few adjustments to the recipe… 1 3/4 cups almond flour, 2 T palm shortening instead of coconut oil, 1 1/2 T honey instead of coconut sugar, and I just went all out with real chocolate chips because I can’t help it, the chocolate sweet tooth runs in my family. I sprinkled just a crack of sea salt on top of each ball of dough for good measure.

cookie-dough
Dat dough, doh.

After not having a choco-chip cookie for SIX MONTHS (I know, I know, go ahead and canonize me now…) I was blown away by how satisfying this treat was as a person who once (maybe more than once) said, “If you’re not going to eat the unhealthy dessert, why bother?” Since my insides didn’t blow up after eating four (one at breakfast, three at lunch. I am a model of self control.) of these little mounds of goodness today, I’m gonna go ahead and say I am so glad that I bothered.

img_7393
The four cookies I ate today. I will probably eat more tonight.
Leave a Reply

