This Week’s Eats

 

I am four months into this elimination diet, and while it’s been strong going pretty much the whole time, I am feeling my momentum lulling just a tad. After a less than fun dining out experience tonight, I am renewed in my resolve to stick to the diet since it really, truly has improved my quality of life so much. It is hard to find the energy to cook on top of working full time, seeing friends, performing improv, and lying in bed worrying about the future, but when I think about how much better I feel now than I did in April, it is definitely worth the effort. Now I just have to overcome the debilitating addiction to peanut M&M’s I’ve developed over the past two weeks. They don’t make me sick…but I almost wish they did because I am eating so many of them.

IMG_4696.JPG

Over Labor Day Weekend I went to the Grand Canyon with two of my best friends from college. We drove to St. George, UT Friday night, arrived at 4:30am, and got up at 11am the next day to tour Antelope Canyon and Horseshoe Bend. Sunday was spent constantly pushing my jaw back up while hiking around various viewpoints at the Grand Canyon. On our 4 mile hike at Cape Final, I had a lunch of sardines and Skinny Crisp crackers, and nearly lost the tin of my sardines to a strong gust. I caught it just in time to avoid littering in one of the most beautiful places on Earth. Of course I would be the person who accidentally pollutes a sardines in mustard lid into a protected national treasure. Monday was the long drive back to LA, made even longer by the Las Vegas to LA traffic. Damn the I-15!

img_4665
Skinny Crisps enjoying the view. Sardines not pictured.

This week I made a big batch of my new favorite recipe, Pad Thai. It’s easy to make, easy to bring/reheat at work, and it’s soooo delicious. I also got rid of some of my freezer food, like chicken nuggets. I broke my streak of going to the gym at least 3 days of the week after work (I had gone for 5 consecutive weeks), but I did have the best workout I’ve done in years on Thursday. The studio I work at gets a team together for the Spartan Race every year, and I did the workout with my coworker. It kicked my ass, but I felt amazing after it. I can’t wait for more next week!

Monday

  • Breakfast: Apple with almond butter on the porch of our hotel room while looking at aspen trees and breathing in the fresh air mere miles from the Grand Canyon. Idyllic.
  • Lunch: Tillamook beef jerky. Eating on the road while staying in places with no refrigerator is difficult, and this was on the final stretch home.
  • Dinner: I went straight to bed after a 12 hour drive from The Grand Canyon to LA.

Tuesday

  • Breakfast: 2 breakfast burritos. 2 eggs, mushrooms, garlic, and salt with the latest addition to my freezer… SIETE FAMILY TORTILLAS!!! Yes people, it’s true. My local Glendale, CA Whole Foods now carries my favorite grain/dairy-free almond flour tortillas. Breakfast is saved!!
  • Lunch: Chicken nuggets
  • Dinner: Homemade pad thai with lime. I combined and livened up two recipes I found last week. One is a chicken satay recipe, and the other is pad thai.  I marinate chicken breast fillets in coconut milk, garlic, turmeric, and ginger, pan fry them in coconut oil, shred them, then put my grain-free fettucine noodles (cooked) along with mushrooms, more garlic, ginger, peanut butter, coconut aminos, and lime juice. It’s so, so good. And my tummy loves it.

Wednesday

  • Breakfast: 1 breakfast burrito.
  • Lunch: Pulled Pork BBQ and mashed sweet potatoes from Wood Ranch Grill. This was a daring experiment in the middle of the day. There was definitely butter in the potatoes, and I have not reintroduced tomatoes to my diet, but this meal seemed to go over well. And the flavor was iNsAnE after not eating this rich of food in a looooong time.
  • Dinner: Leftovers from Wood Ranch Grill before an improv show.

Thursday

  • Breakfast: An egg whites omlette with bacon, spinach, mushrooms from the catering truck at the set. They work magic in that truck. Those guys can literally make any food you want.
  • Lunch: A chop salad from The Frontyard (no tomato, no cheese).
  • Dinner: Leftover Pad Thai and a cobb salad (no cheese, no tomato) from Alcove Cafe before seeing Don’t Think Twice.

Friday

  • Breakfast: Banana with almond butter.
  • Lunch: Leftover chop salad and leftover pad thai.
  • Snack: About 1/3 of a pina colada shaved ice. My stomach was doing Simone Biles caliber gymnastics for the rest of the afternoon/evening, so… I’ve learned my lesson from this less than gold-medal decision.
  • Dinner: Sushi dinner from What the Fish. One california roll, and a variety of sushi. I snuck in some coconut amios to substiture for soy sauce. I should just carry coconut aminos with me always. Phone. Keys. Wallet. Coconut Aminos.

Saturday

  • Breakfast: 1 breakfast burrito.
  • Snack: I literally had 2 bites of my little sis’s ice cream at Baskin Robbins after we saw Kubo and the Two Strings and had a searing headache a couple hours later. Luckily some Advil helped, but I can’t help but wonder if it was food related…
  • Lunch: Chicken nuggets with ketchup. My stomach felt so-so after this. Was it the tomatoes?
  • Dinner: Breakfast for dinner! 2 eggs over easy with prosciutto.
  • Drinks: I had 1/2 of a desert pear cider at Highland Park Brewery with some of my improv friends after my UCB Harold Audition (meh…could’ve been better). Even though I watered it down, this beverage has to be more sugary than most sodas. Luckily I didn’t feel the need to finish it and felt fine the next morning.

Sunday

  • Breakfast: 2 eggs over easy with prosciutto
  • Lunch: That tired old story of having a late breakfast and not needing lunch…
  • Dinner: 2 california rolls, 2 albacore sushi, 2 tuna sushi from Sushi Stop. This was a terrible idea. I also had soy sauce, which led to my post-dinner demise. Luckily I wasn’t sick for too long and slept fine.
Leave a Reply

