Produce in a Box!

Starting this elimination diet three and a half months ago was the biggest step I’ve made outside of medicine to taking back control over my health. I’ve seen many improvements in my health along the way, but I also see a lot of ways I can make my cooking/eating/health more efficient/economical/better overall.

So, I’ve been looking into Community Supported Agriculture (CSA) as an alternative to shopping for produce at the grocery store. Between trying to eat organically and healthy on a budget, the drought in California, and climate change as a whole, buying local, in-season produce seems like a win on all counts.

So I did some internet research on different options and settled on South Central Farmers’ Co-Op and bought a full sized box for $22 last week. I chose South Central because they…

  1. Are on the cheaper end of the spectrum when it comes to ordering CSA boxes (they ask for $22-$25 dollars for a full box).
  2. Can be picked up at the Hollywood Farmers’ Market just a couple of miles from my home.
  3. Let you can order one box at a time. No need to commit to three months of weekly boxes when you’re just one person and a box is supposed to feed a family of four!

So I placed my order online last week and hopped on the Metro Sunday morning to pick up my box.  In retrospect, I definitely should have driven because…

  1. I would have saved 50 cents on parking vs. taking the subway.
  2. I wouldn’t have gotten called a “dumbasssss bitch!” while minding my business waiting for the subway if I had taken my car. Or maybe I would have. LA drivers aren’t always the nicest.
  3. And I wouldn’t have had to carry the WORLD’S LARGEST WATERMELON all the way home on the subway. Thank goodness I’ve been lifting weights at the gym lately.
FullSizeRender-14
The World’s Largest Watermelon to Ever Ride on An Underground Train

In the end I did get my bounty home safely, and opened up the box to find…

…a butternut squash, zucchini, potatoes, cilantro, parsley, tomatillos, onions, okra, and tomatoes. And don’t forget about the freakishly large watermelon. That’s now sitting in my fridge. Taking up all the space. Until I can figure out what to do with it.

There was also what I am told is an English Cucumber! If you are an English Cucumber expert, please send me a recipe! I have no idea what to do with it other than improve my baton twirling skills.

IMG_4568
English Cucumber? What do I do with this? Help!

I gave the potatoes, tomatoes, tomatillos, and okra to my sister, and so far I’ve used some of the zucchini, onion, and cilantro. Some butternut squash puree is in order for some more meat sauce. I’ll make some refreshing Agua Fresca from the watermelon using a recipe from my mom and that should help make some space in the fridge :)

FullSizeRender-15.jpg
The gang’s all here.

Overall, the box is a good deal, it just might not be the best fit for me. Next time I’ll drive to the famers’ market and pick and choose my own in-season, local, and hopefully on-budget produce. My sister won’t get as much free food, but I’ll be happier with fruits and veggies that are catered to my diet :)

Leave a Reply

