Delicious Donuts: The Elusive Paleo(ish) Treat

In the search for grain and dairy-free sweet treats other than my trusty Coconut Layer Bars, I’ve turned to donuts. The first attempt ended in an inedible crumbly mess, but at least it smelled good! I’m happy to say the second batch was much improved, but there are still so many adjustments I want to make in round three to make the finished product taste just a good as it looks.

FullSizeRender (6)
Looks great, tastes… pretty good.

It’s an uphill battle taking a classic baked good, especially one that is traditionally fried and requires a lot of sugar, and making it paleo(ish). Trying to replicate that unique texture of a crunchy outside, fluffy interior and sugary icing on top to fit my diet is damn near impossible when you have to replace all of the ingredients that make it so dang tasty/unhealthy. Luckily I had the help of one of my friends over the weekend to experiment with me in the kitchen. Here’s what we did!

For Paleo Donuts:

  • 1 cup coconut flour
  • 2 TBS arrowroot starch
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup coconut cream
  • 4 TBS maple syrup
  • 4 TBS coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup coconut shortening, melted
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract
FullSizeRender
Totally paleo!

For Not Quite So Paleo Icing:

  • 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp coconut oil, melted
FullSizeRender (5)
Paleo-ish

I used this donut recipe as a starting point, and made my own adjustments to land on the above recipe.

This batch turned out dry, dry, dry. The icing was a saving grace, as were the two glasses of water I had to down in order to finish one donut. For batch #3, I’d like to try one more egg, more coconut shortening, more coconut cream or milk, and less salt. I think I’ll also try using almond flour instead of the arrowroot starch. I’ve seen recipes that use applesauce as a moistener, which I’d be interested to try out as well.

For now, I’ll keep washing these babies back with gallons of water, and hoping that one day a batch will taste as good as the photos look!

FullSizeRender (4)
Yum!

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Good luck! I can totally relate to the journey of several failed attempts at a recipe. It’s totally worth it when you get there! I find arrowroot starch to be very drying in recipes. I often add sparkling water to moisten and fluff the dough. Might work here? I’ll be on the look or for batch 3.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for the tips! I will definitely try the sparkling water next time. I already ate all of batch 2, so batch 3 is probably not far off…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

